What Is CFA?

CFA - Chartered Financial Analyst

The CFA designation is recognized as the definitive standard for measuring competence and integrity in the fields of portfolio management and investment analysis. The CFA curriculum develops and reinforces a fundamental knowledge of investment principles. The three levels of examination verify a candidate's ability to apply these principles across all areas of the investment decision-making process. The program's professional conduct requirements demand that both CFA candidates and charterholders adhere to the highest standards of ethical responsibility.

Contact us today to speak with a CFA in Bedford, NH.

Laptop and Financial Paperwork

How To Obtain CFA

The CFA program is administered by the CFA Institute, formerly known as the Association for Investment Management and Research (AIMR).

Important Information

The CFA program consists of an extremely rigorous self-study curriculum with a suggested 750-hour minimum. Successful candidates must complete all three levels (I, II, and III) by passing a series of three six-hour exams over a minimum two-year period. The program covers ethical and professional standards, as well as analysis methods and valuation metrics used across the entire range of securities, including:

  • Alternative & Derivative Investments
  • Financial Statement Analysis
  • Quantitative Methods
  • Economics
  • Corporate Finance
  • Portfolio Management
  • Performance Measurement